Myla Golberg and the Decemberists

The Decemberists – Song For Myla Goldberg Lyrics




For those of us not hip to the names of failed Russian revolutionary movements, check out this Wikipedia article http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decembrist_revolt or skip it and believe me when I tell you that the name was given to group of officers commanding about 3,000 men assembled in Senate Square, where they “refused to swear allegiance to the new tsar, Nicholas I, proclaiming instead their loyalty to the idea of a Russian constitution. They expected to be joined by the rest of the troops stationed in St. Petersburg, but they were disappointed. Nicholas spent the day gathering a military force, and then attacked with artillery. With the firing of the artillery came the end of the revolt in the north.” I can’t find the reference but I’m pretty sure that Milan Kundera refers to the Decemberists in his book, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, which I am, frankly, afraid to reread now, having read so much recent criticism of Kundera’s supposed misogyny. I don’t think I could bear it if it’s true. My early love of Phillip Roth has been irrevocably tainted by rereading, I can’t lose Kundera. What about you guys? Thoughts on the Russian Revolution, bands from Portland Oregon, Bee Season or songs that mention writers? Oo er. I’ve had a brilliant idea. I just picked up some signed copies of Honoree Jeffer’s Gospel of Barbeque and Outlandish Blues. I had thought that I would parcel them out to people I particularly love and think worthy of Ms. Jeffers but perhaps if readership picks up I’ll sponsor a “best response” contest and send one to the lucky winner. What do you think?



					
Published in: on February 26, 2007 at 7:26 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://squarestateliterature.wordpress.com/2007/02/26/myla-golberg-and-the-decemberists-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I want to say I like the Decemberists, but somehow I’m afraid that’s tantamount to saying “I’m a namedropper. I choose shoes based on how eccentric they make me look. I boldly read controversial, misunderstood, arcane or obtuse novels in public. My cats are named after minor characters from Chekhov. I enjoy soup; I wish I were Canadian; my underwear are made from organic cotton. I drive a Subaru, and Nina Tottenberg is my alarm clock.”

  2. Cool clip of the Decembrists and their Myla Goldberg song. One of the early Led Zeppelin songs mentions scenes from Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings.” I’m sure there are tons of other songs that mention writers, but can’t think of any others for now.

  3. Hi Sara,

    As usual I feel way out of it. I didn’t know who any of those people were. Decembrists, Kundera and Roth, but that was another lifetime. This is where I come to see what the square state hipsters are jivin on. I promise to visit often and leave my tendentious and tedious mark, breaking out frequently and passionately into lengthy theological monologues.

    -Ben

  4. Yikes! Amy and I are always trying to think of cool acronyms to use online, assiduously avoiding, of course, the urbane LOL and J/K. I am so happy to wake up, check the blog and see three lovely comments that I am coining a new acronym on the spot:IAIAROE. While the multiple vowels may look like sloppy Greek, most of you have probably guessed that it actually stands for, “I Am In A Rictus Of Ecstasy.” I think, unlike “SCIHG” (She Chortled In Her Glee,) this one is going to catch on. Yeah! Lovely comments! Keep them coming.

  5. I am not sure what kind of commie nonsense inspires the “Decemberists” as they play for beer around Portland, but I am sure it is good-natured nonsense at the very least. The first time I ever went to Portland was 1990. I ended up there quite by accident, as I was taking the Green Tortoise bus from Marin County to Seattle. That was an accident also, since my intention was only to ingratiate myself with two traveling North Face hippie women (who I mistook for lesbians seeking a 17-year-old male to spice things up), and who happened to be at the same Denny’s I was at in Petaluma. They were on their way to see some band called Pearl Jam. I did not see the wisdom of leaving the bay area to see any band, but the thought of never seeing these crazy sapphic nymphs again made me nervous. So I got on the bus when they did. Nasty green bus. The driver was dressed like Captain Crunch in a sort of Sergeant Pepper pirate suit. He was so perpetually stoned, we were stopped at one point on a frontage road near Arbuckle, arguing about whether or not the bus was still moving. This was not my kind of thing. But five weeks later, we did get to Portland. Captain Crunch spent several days there studying a broken fuel pump and talking on a pay phone. I could not take the slow pace and the ass smell of the bus. I hitch-hiked back home. It took 8 hours.

  6. Some thoughts . . .

    There was a revolution in Russia? When?

    I thought Portland was in Maine.

    Songs that mention writers, though? Thanks for mentioning that, because now I have “Afternoons and Coffeespoons” stuck in my head. Won’t be long before it’s “Rain King”, though, so that’s fine. (Neither song actually mentions the writer, although the first mentions Sartre. Ooh . . . let’s get into a big debate about whether the author is inherent in the work or completely separate from it. Oh, yes, let’s.)

    And if you don’t think it’s cool to bring up both Crash Test Dummies and Counting Crows in one short comment, well, then I don’t know what cool even IS.

    (Also, I know we discussed this yesterday, but a blog without an “About” page is no blog at all. (If you want to steal mine, you can, because I stole it from Salinger.))


Leave a Reply

